As far back as 1970, Illinois recognized that transfer students needed clear pathways between twoyear and four-year postsecondary institutions, and that earned credits should transfer with them. In 1970, through the Community College Compact Agreement (Compact), the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) formalized the belief that two-year and four-year institutions are partners in the delivery of postsecondary education. In that spirit, IBHE recommended that all public four-year institutions guarantee junior status to any incoming transfer student who completed an associate degree. While there is still no guarantee of junior status for all associate degree holding transfer students in Illinois, many of the state policies that followed—including the three outlined here—support strong institutional partnership.